Houses of Parliament

OU students invited to represent young scientists across the UK at Parliament

Three PhD students from the Faculty of STEM have been invited to participate in a Science Question Time with Members of the House of Commons Science and Technology Select Committee.

Voice of the Future 2017, which is being hosted by the Royal Society of Biology on behalf of the science and engineering community, will provide young scientists and engineers the opportunity to speak to the Select Committee about issues of science policy that matter to them. This will include Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation, Jo Johnson MP.

The student representatives from the OU include: Radka Gromnicova, Rhian Chapman, and Yasmin Bokhari-Friberg. PhD Researcher at the School of Physical Sciences, Rhian Chapman, said:

Being able to interact with government scientific advisers and MPs directly is an opportunity that few have a chance to experience.

For me personally, as a PhD student in Physics, it should be a really fascinating day; I want to ask questions about the Government’s commitment to space science research.

Currently in its sixth year, organisations such as the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society, and the Institute of Physics, will be represented.


Photo by Never House